Alphabet Soup

What do the letters behind the names mean?

Chartered Financial Analyst, CFA

The CFA® Program bridges current practice, investment theory, and ethical and professional standards to provide investment analysis and portfolio management skills. The mission of the CFA Institute is to lead the investment profession globally by promoting the highest standards of ethics, education, and professional excellence for the ultimate benefit of society

Only the most dedicated complete a program that requires 1,000 hours of intense study, three 6-hour exams and four years of work experience.

CFA Institute seeks to set professional standards for investment management practitioners and broadly engage other finance professionals through their interest and interactions with the investment management industry. Improving outcomes for investors advances our social mission and benefits members through greater demand for educated and ethical investment management professionals.


Certified Financial Planner, CFP

A certified financial planner (CFP) refers to the certification owned and awarded by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. The CFP designation is awarded to individuals who successfully complete the CFP Board's initial and ongoing certification requirements. Individuals desiring to become a CFP professional must take extensive exams in the areas of financial planning, taxes, insurance, estate planning and retirement.

The Financial Planning Standards Council (FPSC) continually strives to ensure Canadians are well served in the financial planning profession by setting and enforcing rigorous standards for Certified Financial Planner® professionals and FPSC Level 1 certificants. Standards are regularly evaluated for their relevance in meeting the needs of Canadians and to ensure they’re keeping pace with changes in the financial planning profession.

There are four sets of standards to which CFP professionals must adhere;

  1. FPSC Code of Ethics:Outlines the eight main principles guiding the conduct of CFP professionals and FPSC Level 1 certificants in all professional activities.
  2. FPSC Rules of Conduct:Outlines the rules that accompany the Code and reflect the specific standards of conduct expected of CFP professionals.
  3. FPSC Fitness Standards:Outlines the expectations that FPSC has for the character of CFP professionals and FPSC Level 1 certificants.
  4. FPSC Financial Planning Practice Standards:Outlines the standardized steps to be followed in any financial planning engagement. 

Shawn Jakupi, Mehendi Kamani, Rob Sleegers and JP Burlock all hold this designation.


Chartered Life Underwriter, CLU

The Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU®) designation is Canada's premier wealth transfer and estate planning designation. The CLU is an advanced designation that expands on the knowledge gained in the CFP® education program with a focus on estate planning and wealth transfer.

The CLU designation is an advanced designation that expands on the CFP® education program. It sets financial advisors apart by successfully meeting established standards for competent practice and presenting a greater level of knowledge and specialized skill in complex wealth and estate-transfer markets. CLU designation-holders are in the unique position of helping Canadians build and preserve wealth.

To achieve this designation, individuals must complete five core courses and three elective courses, and successfully pass all eight two-hour, 100-question examinations.

Mehendi Kamani and Rob Sleegers have achieved this designation.


Chartered Investment Manager, CIM

Achieving and maintaining the CIM® demonstrates proficiency and adherence to professional standards that enables a professional to register with the provincial securities commission as a Portfolio Manager, Advising Representative or an Associate Advising Representative, or to be able to conduct discretionary portfolio management services for clients with an IIROC member firm.

The CIM is one of the programs offered through the Canadian Securities Institute. The course covers advanced money management strategies that best serve affluent and institutional clients, including how to tailor both traditional and/or sophisticated investment strategies to the unique needs of each client and effective portfolio management within Canadian markets and regulatory requirements.

Mehendi Kamani, Rob Sleegers, JP Burlock and Anne Milne hold this designation.